Home

Buenos dias, amigos! (I’m on the fourth Spanish Rosetta Stone CD, thank you) And welcome to another riveting installment of Ruff Tails, also known as the best blog on the internet. Happy 2015! I have so many things to be thankful for this year, but instead of keeping a grateful journal that I wouldn’t share with anyone, I’m going to tell all of you why I’m so happy. I’m nothing if not an over-sharer.

Reason #1: This year isn’t 2014. 

Last year was a little tough, with my ACL surgery, flea-gate (the forest pillaging episode was followed by two more infestations) and the day I ate rat poison. Oh, yes, I never covered that. In early December I was sniffing around the laundry room while Mom loaded the washer and came upon some fabulous smelling treats that looked just like these:

Yummy!

Yummy!

Mom heard me chewing these tasty morsels and turned around to see what I was eating. She pried open my mouth, gasped and then stuck her arm so far down it seemed to touch my stomach. Not fun. I didn’t want to bite her, so I backed away, but she had a tight grip and kept scraping out the blue pellets. She ran upstairs and the next thing I knew, Dad was driving me to a hospital. Time stopped. I vaguely remember being taken away from him and throwing up for an hour straight. I came home and had to take vitamins for 30 days and rest. Walks were kept to a few blocks and that was it.

So that sucked. The good news? I’m fino y elgante (Spanish for fine and dandy) now.

Reason #2: My leg is healed. 

This week marks 13 weeks since my surgery, which means I am completely in the clear. Mom and I celebrated last weekend with a long walk at Crissy Field. The best part? She let me OFF-LEASH, which meant I could savor every sniffing sensation on the path for as long as I wanted (or until she asked me to hurry up). I took my time, chatting with the plants I had so missed, diving in the dog poop I’d longed to writhe in and inspecting a good number of chihuahua colillas (yes, that means butts, people). It was the best day ever.

I'm a model! I'm a model! I extended my back left leg just for this shoot.

I’m a model! I’m a model! I extended my back left leg just for this shoot.

Leading the way.

Leading the way.

Reason #3: This is the year of cardboard. 

Cardboard is my jam. I mean, what is more fun than tearing it to shreds? No reason to answer because there is nothing more fun. Apparently, Mom and Dad are now obsessed with shopping online, which means I get to devour as many boxes as I like whenever I want.

This pile took me a while.

This pile took me a while.

Reason #4: I am getting close to being a professional cow tipper.

A few days in 2015, Mom and Dad took me on a 9.5-mile hike (my record!) in the East Bay. It took us a blissful three hours and I came face to face with one of these:

Slow moving creatures.

Quite a slow moving creature.

It blocked the sun, so I thought it was a building at first, but then I realized it was, in fact, a cow. The wheels in my head started to turn. I was going to tip this thing it it was the last thing I did! So I got a running start and then charged full speed ahead….that is, until Dad realized what I was doing and, well, he made me start walking on the path again.

Always playing it safe, that's my pops.

Always playing it safe, that’s my pops.

So that was kind of a bummer, but it did cement in my mind that cow tipping in now on my bucket list.

Here we are immediately after he pulled me away. As you can see, I kept my eyes on the prize the whole time. I'M SO FOCUSED.

Here we are immediately after he pulled me away. As you can see, I kept my eyes on the prize the whole time. I’M SO FOCUSED.

So there you have it. 2015 is already shaping up quiet nicely. My days are spent sleeping under my blanket.

I assume this position for about two thirds of every day.

I assume this position for about two thirds of every day.

Or, I’m looking for cows out my back window. I have yet to see any in the alley behind my house, but I know it is solo es cuestion de tiempo (just a matter of time).

When Mr. or Mrs. Cow shows up, I'll be ready.

When Mr. or Mrs. Cow shows up, I’ll be ready.

Leave a Reply

